A kiss of disappointment

My 17-year-old son is an old soul. He loves politics, philosophy and classic crooners, like Bruce Springsteen and Marshall Crenshaw.

Lately, he’s been delving into 70s’ and 80s’ rock. Specifically, KISS.

In the car today, Nathan dropped this factoid on me: Apparently, the driving force behind Kiss’ over-the-top concert performances was pure and simple disappointment. Gene Simmons had attended a rock concert as a teen and was let down by the lame gig.

Fueled by mediocrity, Simmons was fired up to offer the best damn rock concert ever. (Interestlngly, his band was crowdsourcing before it was popular — allowing the fans to choose each band member’s persona and costume.)

All this got me thinking about the beauty of disappointment.

How many times in your life has a product, an event, a movie left you dissatisfied?

And how often does that inspire you to create something better?

What’s more: If we avoid being disappointed or protect our children from it, we are acting as roadblocks to creativity, inspiration.

So get out out there and get disillusioned. You never know what second-rate experience might be your muse.

~ by Donna J. Tuttle on June 24, 2009.

6 Responses to “A kiss of disappointment”

  1. Is this about me? Do I disappoint you? Because I think all-in-all I have been a good husband.

  2. I wish I could have been that bright at 17! He’s correct by the way. Kiss set the bar that American bands still struggle with.

  3. Disappointment can be a powerful motivator – everything from seeking a more satisfying job to seizing new business opportunities to building a better mousetrap. When disappointment strikes, it’s what you do with it that counts the most. Some people become stuck in the moment. Others like Simmons find a way to turn it into an advantage.

  4. You have just make me realize why I felt that disappointment is sacred ground.

  5. Isn’t that what draws most of us to excel? We see how “it” can be better and we aim to prove that point. Here here to the perfectionist of the world!!!

  6. You have just make me realize why I felt that disappointment is sacred ground.
    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

Leave a Reply

 
